Nativism Watch

GOP lawmakers Bachmann, Wolf receive award from Frank Gaffney

Imagine 2050 Staff • Sep 19, 2014

The Center for Security Policy (CSP) will be honoring Reps. Michele Bachmann and Frank Wolf with its 2014 “Keeper of the Flame” award at a reception today, September 18, in Washington D.C.

In the announcement, CSP, who is headed by Frank Gaffney, wrote the award is reserved for “individuals who devote their public careers to the propagation of democracy and the respect for individual rights throughout the world.”

Ironically, if there is one person who is actually committed to steamrolling individual rights, it’s Michele Bachmann.

In 2012, Bachmann led a modern-day Joseph McCarthy-style witch hunt claiming the Muslim Brotherhood had infiltrated the U.S. government. During this time, Bachmann and a few of her colleagues led a character attack on Huma Abedin, one of Hillary Clinton’s top aides, and accused her of being an agent of the Muslim Brotherhood. Bachmann received her information about Abedin from Gaffney’s organization, which continues to push the conspiracy theory.

This will the second time in two weeks that Bachmann has received an award from an anti-Muslim organization. Last week, Bachmann was honored at ACT! for America’s national conference. Rep. Wolf, Bachmann’s co-recipient of CSP’s award, has also been honored by ACT! in past years.

Wolf represents Virginia’s 10th District and is serving his 17th term in Congress. Bachmann represents Minnesota’s 6th district and has been in office since 2007.


Image source

Imagine 2050 Newsletter

  • translate

    English • Afrikaans • العربية • Беларуская • Български • Català • Česky • Cymraeg • Dansk • Deutsch • Eesti • Ελληνικά • Español • فارسی • Français • Gaeilge • Galego • हिन्दी • Hrvatski • Bahasa Indonesia • Íslenska • Italiano • עברית • Latviešu • Lietuvių • 한국어 • Magyar • Македонски • മലയാളം • Malti • Nederlands • 日本語 • Norsk (Bokmål) • Polski • Português • Română • Русский • Slovenčina • Slovenščina • Shqip • Srpski • Suomi • Svenska • Kiswahili • ไทย • Tagalog • Türkçe • Українська • Tiếng Việt • ייִדיש. • 中文 / 漢語