Nativism Watch

Texas again supports nativism in court

Imagine2050 Staff • Apr 11, 2017
Image source: Getty Images
Image source: Getty Images

The State of Texas continues to lead efforts to advance nativist policies.

On Monday, Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton announced his office filed an amicus curiae brief with the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in defense of President Trump’s second attempt at a travel ban targeting Muslims. In a press release, Paxton’s office stated the brief was submitted by “a coalition of 15 states.”

The coalition includes Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Kansas, Louisiana, Montana, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Mississippi.

Paxton’s defense of the Trump administration’s extreme policies should come as no surprise. Both he and his predecessor, current Texas Gov. Greg Abbott, have worked closely with the organized anti-immigrant movement.

IRLI Beginnings: The Immigration Reform Law Institute and the Anti-Immigrant Origins of Texas v. United States

As the Center for New Community noted in an April 2016 report, Ken Paxton and Greg Abbott worked closely with anti-immigrant groups while leveling a legal challenge against President Obama’s temporary deportation relief program DAPA. The anti-immigrant movement later confirmed its involvement in that legal challenge in June 2016, after the U.S. Supreme Court allowed an injunction against the program to remain. The Immigration Reform Law Institute (IRLI), the legal arm of flagship anti-immigrant group Federation for American Reform, announced after that decision it had “advised the Texas Attorney-General’s office on key facets of the case.”

IRLI has also defended the Trump administration’s beleaguered travel ban, submitting briefs to courts in Hawaii and Maryland last month. Both courts found the ban to be unconstitutional. On March 31, the group filed another brief defending the ban with the 4th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

Imagine 2050 Newsletter

  • translate

    English • Afrikaans • العربية • Беларуская • Български • Català • Česky • Cymraeg • Dansk • Deutsch • Eesti • Ελληνικά • Español • فارسی • Français • Gaeilge • Galego • हिन्दी • Hrvatski • Bahasa Indonesia • Íslenska • Italiano • עברית • Latviešu • Lietuvių • 한국어 • Magyar • Македонски • മലയാളം • Malti • Nederlands • 日本語 • Norsk (Bokmål) • Polski • Português • Română • Русский • Slovenčina • Slovenščina • Shqip • Srpski • Suomi • Svenska • Kiswahili • ไทย • Tagalog • Türkçe • Українська • Tiếng Việt • ייִדיש. • 中文 / 漢語